Book Design and Visual Storytelling

As part of my author residency at Keilor Downs College, I had a wonderful experience working with Year 12 art students talking about book design, book illustration and how words and pictures work together to tell a story.

We spoke about the journey of a book from idea to publication, how an artist is assigned to a book and the collaborative process.

We spoke about how the way an author and illustrator develop characters are similar but different.

It was agreed that getting to the emotional heart of a character is important when developing them, whether it’s visually or through words.

We spoke about how the body language of a character, their facial expressions and even the colours used by the artist contribute to characterisation and mood.

I shared with them how my colleague, author/illustrator Serena Geddes uses a different method to me when she’s creating her stories and characters. She tends to draw them first then add the words later. There is no right way to tell stories … it’s the voice of the artist that makes each story unique.

We also talked about the cover design for my book, Beyond Belief and I shared how I created the main character of Ruben.

Creative Learning Partnerships – a State Government Initiative

2 thoughts on “Book Design and Visual Storytelling

  1. Hi Dee,

    I wanted to reach out and congratulate you on such an astonishing program. As a writer and LSO at a school in Sydenham, I am fully aware of the limited opportunity for children to learn about writing and creating stories. I run a program at Bacchus Marsh Library for school aged students to come and write and if they wish to receive feedback. The one thing I notice is they just want someone to give them permission to write. What you’re doing is an amazing chance for these kids. Well done, Cheryl Rosario

    >

  2. Thanks so much Cheryl. Your program at Bacchus Marsh Library sounds wonderful too. I totally agree with what you say about giving kids permission to write … and giving them creative freedom. It makes such a difference. Dee

Leave a comment