Full Circle

As my research trip to Paris enters its last week *sob*, I’ve been reflecting on what an amazing experience this has been.

I also have to pinch myself. I wanted to be a writer since I was seven years-old, and here I am in Paris researching for a book I’m writing. The kind of book I always wanted to write about truth and history and humanity.

I have met so many wonderful people here, heard stories that are ‘beyond belief’ and enjoyed blue Parisian skies almost every day. 

I’ve been into a mosque, a synagogue and a church. I’ve been humbled by the kindness of people and their willingness to help me with my story.

My new Parisian friend, Laetitia

I emailed the sewer tour people at des égouts de Paris to let them know I would be in Paris doing research for a book. And they have been truly amazing. They organised an English speaking guide, Laetitia who was so kind and so interested in my story.

After my tour of the sewers, she gave me a day of her time to help with my research, acting as a personal interpreter and guide. She speaks French, English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese and Arabic and her assistance was invaluable. I could never have uncovered the information and stories that I did without her.

I will be leaving Paris having made a true friend.

Being in Paris, researching a book I’m passionate about has been a dream come true. I’ve been so lucky with the people who have supported me in this … my long-suffering husband, research assistant, translator and all round wonderful guy, Michael.

And it was serendipitous to catch up with my Year 10 English teacher, Jenny Cosh, who just happened to be in Paris at the same time.

She was the one who believed in me and encouraged my writing career from when I was in high school, when becoming a writer was being actively discouraged at home because  ‘writing wasn’t a real job’.

Here I am living the writer’s dream … and I have been able to share it with the English teacher who encouraged me to have that dream. How lucky am I? How great are English teachers? For me, catching up with Jenny felt like things had come full circle.

It’s funny how important people in your life can turn up in the most unexpected places.

Has this ever happened to you on your writing journey?

Another big research day today, but more about that later.

Happy writing 🙂

Dee

This project is supported by the Victorian Government through Creative Victoria 

8 thoughts on “Full Circle

  1. Awww. Teary. Beautiful blog, Dee. And lovely to see your research assistant and all round wonderful guy. I suspect we could add ‘candid photographer’ to that bio, too?

  2. It sounds like it’s gone ridiculously fast, Dee when in fact you have experienced a life time of connections and feelings. Continued best wishes and safe travels onward.

  3. Thanks Kat,

    It has been truly amazing. Still more research to do though. Off to the resistance museum today. Still have to do a cruise down the seine and go to Anne Frank Garden. But I think I’m up for the challenge 🙂

    Dee

  4. It’s great to finally “meet” your wonderful guy, Michael. You are so blessed to have such a wonderful husband. He takes great photos. Sometimes we meet the best people when we’re out researching or writing, and they become life-long friends. I hope it’s the same for you and your interpreter, Laetitia. Hope your last week is terrific; it’s always a wrench to leave someplace you love.

Comments are closed.