Paris – Replenishing the Soul

The artist is the creator of beautiful things.
To reveal art and conceal the artist is art’s aim.
Oscar Wilde – The Picture of Dorian Gray

Just another one of those serendipitous moments on this trip.

The airbnb where I’m staying has a bookcase full of amazing books.

My problem … my French language skills are not good enough to read them.

In fact, the only book in English that I could actually read was … Oscar Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Gray.  It was just the inspiring and welcome break I needed from trying to find my own words after a couple of confronting and emotionally draining days of research. 

How beautiful is Oscar Wilde’s writing. How stark a tale he tells.

And then of course, there’s Paris in Spring.

 

And there’s Paris.

Each day I find myself falling more and more in love with the place and its people.

My research trip to Paris has been made possible thanks to the generous support of VicArts.

Tomorrow I’m off to do the sewer tour to explore the world that lurks beneath Paris.

Happy writing 🙂

Dee

This project is supported by the Victorian Government through Creative Victoria 

6 thoughts on “Paris – Replenishing the Soul

  1. How wonderful, Dee. Writing can be tough at times, can’t it? What an inspiring place to be writing in though. Enjoy your sewer tour. I’m sure it will be fascinating.

Comments are closed.