Friends, Free Writing and Famous Faces

In February I packed my laptop and warm coat and headed off to New York for the SCBWI (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators Conference). The coat proved to be particularly useful as we had snow … lots of it. The laptop was pretty handy too 🙂

The trip was all about stepping out of my comfort zone. I had arranged to room with amazing author/illustrators Serena Geddes and Liz Anelli whom I barely knew, and I was on a mission to spend time with my recently acquired and very fabulous agent, Jill Corcoran. I’d met Jill briefly in LA in 2010, but all our communications since then had been via the internet.

My gorgeous roomies, Serena Geddes and Liz Anelli

At the SCBWI NY conference with our fabulous agent, Jill Corcoran

I also visited the Holocaust Museum to research my work in progress, Beyond Belief. That day I walked 19.2 kilometres but no amount of walking could erase the images of the people who had suffered at the hands of Hitler and his Nazis.

The Holocaust Museum was a moving but sad experience

I met some famous faces (although I think they may have been imposters.)

So much to do and so little time. But I managed to fit it all in … and find time to write as well.

The conference itself was amazing and you can read all about it at the SCBWI Conference blog.

A writer’s life is full of ups and downs, but if I took one important thing away from the trip it was that being a writer is as much about the journey as the destination.

Happy writing 🙂

Dee

P.S. I’m heading off to Paris on Friday to research my book, Beyond Belief. I wouldn’t be doing it without  the generous support of VicArts who have given me a grant to cover the trip. I’ll be blogging about my adventures/journey here. See you then 🙂

12 thoughts on “Friends, Free Writing and Famous Faces

  1. WOW Dee!
    This is amazing!
    Thanks for sharing your writers journey by stepping out into the unknown to research and write your new book.. Love the sound of it !! Wishing you every success… Karen Tyrrell Author
    PS Loved your snowy photos and your captions

  2. Looks an absolute treat. Enjoy phase two of your research, Paris and beyond! 😉 Safe travels, Dim xx

  3. These photos are lovely, Dee. Thanks for showing us a bit of your time there. Am looking forward to seeing your French photos! Will be wonderful. xx

Comments are closed.