10 Years of CYA

I attended the first CYA Conference in Brisbane ten years ago. My novel Letters to Leonardo had been shortlisted in their writing competition.

Letters to Leonardo Book CoverLetters to Leonardo was published five years later, and five years on from that, I’ll be attending the tenth CYA Conference.

I haven’t been going to many conferences in Australia lately due to family commitments, but I’ve been busy writing, and am now ready to submit.

When you have submission ready manuscripts is a great time to go to a conference like CYA. In Australia there are a limited number of publishers willing to take on or even view submissions from new young adult and children’s writers and illustrators.

Conferences like CYA give you a chance to meet these people and get your work in front of them.

At this year’s CYA Conference there are 8 publishers and 3 agents available to pitch to. Unfortunately Penguin and Harper Collins are fully booked already but there are plenty more.

Screen Shot 2015-04-26 at 3.42.19 pmEven if you don’t have something ready to submit, there are still plenty of reasons to attend this conference. I personally can’t wait for Morris Gleitzman’s extended Master Class.

There’s also a publishers panel about first pages, and workshops by amazing illustrator, Sarah Davis and talented authors like Kaz Delaney, Meredith Costain and Paul Collins.

CYA is a huge day of information gathering, networking and being inspired. Check out the full program here.

Let me know if you’re going and I’ll see you there:)

Happy writing:)

Dee

P.S. Tomorrow I’ll be blogging about the fabulous SCBWI Europolitan – I learnt so much.

15 thoughts on “10 Years of CYA

  1. This will be my eighth year Dee. So looking forward to seeing you again. Twice in one year – who would have thought! D x

  2. Will be lovely to see you again, Dimity:)

    When I told my boys about going to CYA they said, “Oh that will only be your second time to Brisbane this year:)”

    They know me too well.

    Dee x

  3. LOL, and kids love keeping tabs, too. Hardly any need for you to unpack your tooth brush this year, Dee!

  4. So happy to see you are back again. I remember your first year so well, and who would have though we would be there again.. 10 years later…

    Beautiful blog – thank you!

    Hugs
    Tina

  5. I couldn’t agree with you more Dee. Tina and Ally and the gang at CYA do such a good job of opening up the world of publishing to new writers and illustrators. I am in the middle of writing and illustrating my first book for Penguin called ‘A Patch from Scratch’ and I wouldn’t be doing it if it wasn’t for CYA.

  6. Thanks Tina,

    I’m very happy to be coming back too. Where have those ten years gone:) Congratulations to you and the team – a lot of hard work for all of you 🙂

    See you soon.

    Dee
    xx

  7. Hi Dee,
    I just Love CYA. This year will be my 5th.
    Last year I was so fortunate to be able to share my Success Story at CYA.
    This year I’m launching my PB Harry Helps Grandpa Remember a week before CYA, so I’ll have more to celebrate.

    Can’t wait to catch up with you this year’s CYA as I wasn’t able to make the Brisbane SCBWI meeting.
    CYA
    ,Karen x

Comments are closed.