Christmas Writing Tips

For my  Christmas blog post this year I decided to do some cute bunny pictures, but unfortunately, things didn’t quite go to plan.

Bunnies posing with Santa

Bunnies posing with Santa

I didn’t want to upset the bunnies by dressing them in cute hats or other attire that might cause them stress so I thought I’d strategically place a couple of Christmas props and let them play amongst them.

What Bunny really thought of Santa

What Bunny really thought of Santa

But bunnies are like manuscripts – no matter how much you coax and plead, sometimes they just don’t quite do what you want/expect.

So like a manuscript, you kind of have to go with the flow and follow the direction the manuscript/bunnies seem to be going.

Bunnies glaring at Christmas basket with suspicion but refusing to hop in it and look cute.

Bunnies glaring at Christmas basket with suspicion but refusing to hop in it and look cute.

Being a bunny photographer is much like being a writer.  You need certain qualities and character traits.

CHRISTMAS WRITING TIPS

So these are my Christmas writing tips – thanks to the bunnies.

1.  Persevere – never give up.
2.  Be flexible and prepared to follow a new direction with your manuscript if that seems like the natural way to go.
3.  Be patient – nothing happens quickly in the world of publishing and trying to rush things only reduces your chances of success.
4. Take the time to make the most of the journey.
5.  Try to set realistic goals – base your goals on things that are possible.
6.  Know your characters and let them guide the direction of your story.
7.  Set up a story world that your characters will belong in.
8.  Don’t avoid conflict – work it into your story.
9.  Don’t forget to reward your characters with some fun times so that when you make things hard for them, you will increase tension.
10.  Even though you might have planned an outcome for your story, be prepared to change the ending to accommodate new plot threads and themes.

I hope you find these tips useful.

Thanks everyone for your wonderful support and feedback on the blog this year.

Wishing you a wonderful festive season and a happy and inspiring 2014. Stay safe and keep writing:)

The last word from the bunnies – “relax and chill out over the summer break”

IMAG5256

If you’re looking for something to do over January/February, feel free to enter my summer writing competition. The top 10 entries will be published in an e-book anthology and there are mentoring prizes worth more than $200 to be won, plus my good writerly friend, Alison Reynolds (author of more than 50 books) will provide a query letter critique to the winner. Optional editorial feedback is also available.

If you have a writing question that you’d like me to blog about in 2014, feel free to include it in the comments section of this post.

Happy writing:)

Dee

Screen Shot 2013-11-24 at 4.25.53 PM

8 thoughts on “Christmas Writing Tips

  1. Wishing you a Christmas filled with smiles and hugs and lovely Christmas surprises and a creative and successful New Year.
    I’m now going to print your Christmas Writing Tips for my Work In Progress folder which I hope to get back to in early January.
    Merry Christmas Dee 🙂

  2. In my rabbit-like haste, I thought this was going to be a post on how to enjoy Easter!! What a turkey I am? Wishing you and the bunnies a bountiful, beautiful and bonza Christmas aswell Dee. Bouncing off to frame bunnies’ tips now for future reference. 😉

  3. LOL. Herding bunnies is a lot like herding cats. Unfortunately they both have minds of their own and often those minds are the complete opposite of ours! Very much like characters in our stories, who decide to go sniff the pretty yellow flowers in the middle of the forest when we’re trying to get them, well, anywhere else. Sometimes their way is okay, sometimes it just makes me roll my eyes and sigh. Eventually we all get where we’re going.

    Tip 11: Remember to laugh when things don’t go quite according to plan. It makes the detours much more fun.

    The bunnies are lovely. Give them a hug for me and I hope you have a great Christmas and a nice warm summer. I will be joining your summer competition. I just have to come up with the perfect 500 words. That’s SHORT for a novelist!

    Deb

  4. That’s so true, Deb:)

    We have two cats too.

    Thanks for Tip 11 – that’s an important one.

    I will hug the bunnies for you. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas too – and an inspiring 2014:)

    I know you’re a novelist by trade Deb – but I like to provide a challenge.

    Have fun:)

    Dee

Comments are closed.