My New Book – Tom’s Dare

Screen Shot 2013-11-11 at 3.18.12 PMI’m very happy to say that my new book, Tom’s Dare came out last week. It’s another historical fiction work published by Pearson.

It’s set in the goldfields in Australia in the mid 1800’s and depicts what it was like for kids attending school in colonial times.

Tom goes to school and hates it and his sister Kitty is forced to stay home and look after the household, as girls did back then.

Tom dares his sister to take his place at school so he can go off looking for gold (that’s why he’s giving her his hat in the picture on the cover).

Kitty goes to school disguised as Tom. But of course it’s something she can’t keep hidden forever – but it’s thanks to what she learns at school that the kids are able to find their missing Dad.

Tom’s Dare is all about life on the goldfields. Tom has a Chinese friend and the book also depicts their life and how the Chinese people were treated on the goldfields. The book was written for readers aged around 10+

It was so much fun doing the research for Tom’s Dare, and I liked the thought of a strong girl character who fought against the confines of the times (as I knew I would have:)

Tom’s Dare is available online through Pearson http://www.pearson.com.au/

14 thoughts on “My New Book – Tom’s Dare

  1. Congratulations. That sounds like a great book. I’m fascinated by the Australian Gold fields. Kerry Greenwood set a Phryne Fisher book with the goldfields as the backdrop (sort of). But she gave some of the history and it was amazing.

    I wish you the very best with this book. I’d love to read it sometime.

    Deb

  2. The gold rush era is a very interesting time in Australia’s history. I love the fact that ‘Tom’s Dare’ tells the story from a child’s point of view and particularly that your main character is female. I’m sure kids will love this book as it brings a fresh perspective to the history of the time.

  3. Dee, my writing is progressing, one chapter at a time. What is your next book about? I’ll look this up at Pearson’s and see if I can get it shipped.

    Happy writing and congratulations again,
    Deb

  4. Hi Deb,

    Sounds like you are making progress, which is good. What are you working on at the moment?

    I have more books coming out with Pearson later this month, but these are for very young kids.

    At the moment I’m working on Hating Ric, which is the mentorship novel I’m doing with Ellen Hopkins. It’s a verse novel about a teenager who crashes his car and changes his life and the lives of the person he crashes into. It’s a verse novel and I’m really enjoying writing it:)

    I’m going to speak to Pearson to see if they can get their books on the Book Depository – and then shipping is free:) Otherwise, unfortunately, the cost of shipping books from Australia is horrendous.

    Happy writing:)

    Dee

  5. I’m still working on the second Inspector Blake novel. I’m seeing things come together now, so hoping to wrap it up in about three more chapters or so. We shall see who wily my murderer can be. He just changed his M.O. — but not his handwriting, fortunately.

    After this, I think I’ll take a break and work on the SF series. I miss my characters.

    Your verse novel sounds great. I think a car crash like that can change a lot of lives. My son just went through one and it certainly made him think. No one else involved, fortunately.

    Happy writing, my friend. Let me know how you go.
    Deb

  6. Hi Deb,

    Sounds like you are having lots of fun with your Inspector Blake novel:)

    SF series sounds like fun too.

    I hope your son is okay after his accident.

    Happy writing to you too, my friend. I’ll keep you posted:)

    Love to hear how your writing is progressing too.

    Dee

Comments are closed.