My Nevada Writing Adventure – The Final Days

IMAG4850After leaving Fallen Leaf Retreat, Mina and I headed to South Lake Tahoe where we’d booked accommodation for the next five days.

We have spent the time here writing, brainstorming, critiquing and then doing it all over again. In between, we have eaten (a lot), met with writerly colleagues and hiked at some beautiful spots around Lake Tahoe.

IMAG4902We saw the Salmon coming up the river to spawn at Taylor’s Creek (unfortunately, no bears in evidence).

We hiked to the shores of Lake Tahoe to see an amazing house called Vikingsholm at the head of Emerald Bay. It was built by Mrs Lora Josephine Knight as a Summer Home in 1929.

After arriving at South Lake Tahoe, I decided to put my mentorship novel aside, and have been working on two mid-grade books in my time here.

IMAG4977One of them was a book my son had classified as fake non-fiction. I have now dragged it across the line into the fiction realm and I think it works much better. This story has been so much fun to work on and with Mina’s help and the inspiring surroundings, it has turned into quite a different book.

IMAG4954I named my character after the popcorn machine here at the resort, and was reminded that inspiration really does come from strange places.

I have also been revamping a mid grade novel I wrote some years ago and in these scenic surroundings, it too has developed a new life.

IMAG4985It’s almost time for me to pack my bags and head home. It has been an amazing trip. This part of the world is a truly beautiful place.

So now it’s back to Australia to spend the next six months reworking my novel until I return in April/May 2014 for the next exciting leg of my mentorship journey.

Happy writing:) See you back in Oz.

Dee

6 thoughts on “My Nevada Writing Adventure – The Final Days

  1. Fun, and glad you got some clarity on the writing. I love when that happens. Keep us posted on your progress. I’m cheering you on from here. If you flew over Hawaii, I hope you waved at me.

    Deb

Comments are closed.