My Nevada Writing Adventure – Day 1

One of the characters I encountered at the airport

One of the characters I encountered at the airport

Finally, I’ve made it back here (to the blog I mean). I’ve just had the most amazing, inspiring, productive weekend at the SCBWI Nevada writing retreat at Fallen Leaf Lake – but it has been so busy – and my head is spinning with all the information I’ve absorbed and the memories of the wonderful people I have met.

So I’m finally sitting at the computer a couple of days late to do the first post. I’m still confused about time – went to bed after midnight last night because I didn’t know what time it was. I might just get used to the time difference the day I hop on the plane to go home.

I boarded the plane from Australia at 11.45am on 24th October and arrived before I’d even left, at 11.15am on 24th October.  I’m not a science fiction writer, but if I was, I’m sure I could make a great story out of that.

NZ to San Francisco was a twelve hour flight – so I watched a lot of movies and read The Plot Whisperer by Martha Alderson. I figured it would help me get into the writing mood.

Unknown-1One of the things that really resonated with me was Martha’s suggestion not to dwell on your start – to just keep writing. As she points out, once you’ve finished the novel, the start will probably change again anyway.

As we soared over the Pacific Ocean I gained many other great insights from Martha’s book. She has a great plot planner, and one of the things I really like about the Plot Whisperer is that Martha identifies that there are different types of writers so different things work for different people. I read Martha’s book into the wee small hours.

IMAG4542OPPORTUNITIES EVERYWHERE

I love the way life constantly throws up opportunities for a writer – whether it’s dialogue you can use, an interesting character or something you overhear.

Most amusing moment of the flight was when the person next to me ordered a vegetarian meal, but it was accidentally given to someone else. (That wasn’t the funny part).

Flight attendant:  I’m sorry you didn’t get your vegetarian meal. Do you eat fish?
Passenger:  No I’m a vegetarian, that’s why I ordered a vegetarian meal.
Flight attendant:  Oh, so you’re a serious vegetarian?

IMAG4548MAKING THE MOST OF CUSTOMS AND OTHER QUEUES

Queues are a fabulous place for a writer to either read a book or to observe and let their imagination roam free.

On the first day of my trip I stood in many queues, perfect for people watching.  I love watching people’s actions and reactions – how they relate to each other. I love trying to guess their relationships to each other, where they have come from, where they are going, why they are going there.

It’s one of the greatest things about being a writer – even without a pen or computer, there’s so much you can do to develop your craft, just by harnessing your people watching skills and injecting your characters with some of these same traits, habits and circumstances (either real or imagined).

IMAG4558

So I guess my tips from day one are:

  1. Embrace the experience.
  2. Keep your eyes and ears open for opportunities.
  3. Look for traits, body language, dialogue etc that you might be able to use in your own characters and their stories.
  4. Have something to record your notes on.
  5. Use long plane flights to read good books about the craft of writing
  6. A lot of the time involved in writing a book actually involves thinking about your characters and their lives so allow yourself the time to do this.
  7. Be excited about the journey ahead.

If you have any travel tips for writers or information to share about making the most of your writing journey, please feel free to share.

Happy writing:)

Dee

8 thoughts on “My Nevada Writing Adventure – Day 1

  1. Welcome back! I love letting my imagination run free while I observe others. But, being an SF writer, the things I imagine tend to involve those people being aliens in disguise, here to spy on us humans and report back to their overlords.

    Anyway, those are some good tips. It’s the little things like body language that I always forget to watch out for, and of course having a notebook handy would be a real advantage. Thanks for the advice!

  2. Thanks Rhiannon,

    Love your alien idea – what a great prompt for story ideas.

    If you don’t have your notebook handy, you can always use a phone or some other device. You can either record your ideas into it or send yourself a text with the ideas.

    Dee

  3. Standing in a queue, sitting at a bus stop or train station or even waiting for someone to pick you up from a designated spot are all great opportunities for people watching…and it definitely sounds as though you’ve been making the most of your Nevada experience, Dee. A handy notebook (or technology equivalent) is definitely a ‘must have’.
    Margaret

  4. I always get in conversation with people in grocery lines and other queues, much to the embarrassment of my husband, and the joy of my son, with whom I share this trait.

    My carry-on for plane trips always include: a book to read (or three; I get bored easily), a notebooks, pens and at least one chapter of my current novel to rewrite. Those things get packed first. Then I go back and pack clothes in the suitcase. There are priorities to life, and my writing stuff seems to make it to the top of the list every time.

    I’ve read this book in bits and pieces. It is good. Best wishes on your trip and hope you get some great writing out of it.

    Deb

  5. Thanks Deb,

    It’s always great chatting to people, particularly in new places.

    I love your carry-on kit.

    Thanks for your best wishes. I’m enjoying the trip so far – and it has been very productive.

    Dee:)

Comments are closed.