Tuesday Writing Tip – Finding Time to Write

clockYou work full time and when you get home there’s tea to cook, washing, cleaning, kid’s homework to supervise and the list goes on.

So where are you going to find the time to write?

Ask yourself, do you really WANT to write?

Or is part of the reason you don’t write – that you keep yourself so busy you won’t have time?

Perhaps writing just plain scares you – and you wouldn’t be alone there. After all, when there’s just you and the paper or you and the computer screen, it can be kind of confronting. There’s nowhere to hide.

If you’re wondering why I ‘bolded’ the first part of this piece, that’s because I wanted to show you what 100 words looks like. Not much is it?

But if you write 100 words every day, that’s 700 words a week and more than 36,000 words a year. And if you can manage 150 words a day, that’s nearly 55,000 words a year (the length of a Young Adult novel).

Once you get into the habit of writing regularly, you’ll probably find that you can write those 100 or 150 words in just 15 minutes – that’s all you will need to allocate in your day for YOU and your writing.

How to Find 15 Minutes in Your Day

  • Get out of bed 15 minutes earlier
  • Go to bed 15 minutes earlier (with paper and pen)
  • Write during your lunch hour at work
  • Write on the train/bus to or from work
  • Watch 15 minutes less television
  • Have paper and pen next to you while you cook tea
  • Keep pen and paper in the car and leave for work 15 minutes earlier – pull over somewhere and write

Realistically, most writers have to work in a day job to support their writing habit. But if you can find more than 15 minutes in your day, even better. Imagine what you could achieve if you had an hour?

Writing isn’t just about words on paper, it’s also about thinking out your story so even if you can’t find the time to write, try to allocate head space to your story – time for you to think – to get to know your characters, their world and their journey.

But be warned – writing can be addictive. The more you write, the more you may find yourself wanting to write.

Perhaps you have other ideas about how you can find time to write? Please feel free to share them in the comments section of this post.

8 thoughts on “Tuesday Writing Tip – Finding Time to Write

  1. I saw that you often responded to my queries quite early in the mornings and figured you got up early to write…so i did too! I wrote my chapter book challenge in 2 weeks and then did my complete first edit in the second two. it worked well for me. 10000 words in 2 weeks! Makes you aware of what you can really do!

  2. Congratulations Kelly,

    That’s a great effort:) The prospect of writing 10,000 words can be daunting but if you take it one step/one word at a time, it’s achievable isn’t it?

    I am an early morning writer, Kelly. I know not everybody is, but for me, getting up 15 minutes or 30 minutes earlier is not that hard and it means I can achieve my writing targets with minimal stress. For me, it’s a case of getting into the habit of writing – making it an essential part of your day like cleaning your teeth.

    Happy writing:)

    Dee

  3. One of the most common afflictions known to the modern writer! But you have given us a no fuss, fool proof way to combat this dilemma. Good on you Dee. I like the no more excuses, less is more approach. Even if I only get to scribble in my diary, I’ve found this year, that discipline alone has kept me on my writing track. A big bold list stuck on the wall next to my desk to remind me of my goals helps too! I have broken the goals down into weekly, fortnightly and monthly frames. Daily objectives would be good but too easy to alter for me. Good luck with yours. Dimity

  4. Thanks Dimity:)

    And thanks for your tips on how you stay on track. It’s all about finding what works for you, isn’t it?:)

    I hope you’re on target to reach your goals.

    Dee:)

  5. Indeed. I am gettign there Dee. Slowly but surely. It’s also about knowing how to prioristise isn’t it? I admit, I’ve just completed a big writing project. The need to sit and physically write was like returning to one of your favourite places. It just felt lovely. The editing aftermath is a whole other story!

Comments are closed.