HOW GOATS CAN TAKE OVER YOUR WRITING

I don’t have much to report on the writing front this week, because I haven’t been doing a whole lot of writing in terms of word counts. But I have been creating.

I was deeply immersed in my YA WIP when my goat Molly bleated to me from outside my study window. She said it was time I put some effort into that  story about her. And of course, being an intelligent and perceptive goat, she was right.

Her story, Molly Loves to Help, has been brewing in my head for quite some time…and suddenly I knew just where to take it.

So that’s what I’ve been doing – writing a picture book about Molly and doing a few sketches to go with it. It might never get published, but I’m having a lot of fun working on it. It’s wonderful to be creating a book that’s not about an imaginary world and pretend characters, but about someone I love.

So I guess my tip for this week is not an original one – create what’s in your heart – and don’t worry if it sidetracks you temporarily from a project…you must follow the creative muse. The original project will still be there when you ‘get back’.

Next Tuesday, we have a special guest coming to talk about writing memoirs. And of course Friday Feedback will be here again this Friday.

In the meantime,

Happy writing and creating:)

Dee

5 thoughts on “HOW GOATS CAN TAKE OVER YOUR WRITING

  1. Hi Dee. Molly sounds gorgeous and inspirational. I’m sure you will create a lovely picture book. And you are right – it’s all about following your creative heart.

  2. Oh Dee, I think this is the most sage advice of all; write from, and what is in your heart. Whenever I’m stuck or feeling in a non writerly mood, I turn to my diary, or revisiting a personal tale which is more of a recording of period of life. Reality flows freely and helps ‘unblock’ the drain on my creativity for other things. Lovely post.

Comments are closed.