THE NATIONAL YEAR OF READING

I know this is a writing blog, but I wanted to devote today’s post to reading.

If there was nobody to read our books we wouldn’t experience the pleasure and true honour of having someone read, interpret and enjoy what we have written.

I grew up in a household where books spilled over into every room, where you couldn’t walk more than a few paces before you came to a bookcase. Everyone loved books in our household. They have always been talked about, and I remember being read to from a very young age and being taken to public libraries every week.

But some people aren’t so lucky. They don’t have exposure to books on a daily basis, and then there are those who struggle to read; who have never been taught or who have struggled with an education system that doesn’t allow for their learning differences.

According to the National Year of Reading, a staggering 46% of Australians can’t read newspapers; follow a recipe; make sense of timetables, or understand the instructions on a medicine bottle.

HOW I ENCOURAGED MY KIDS TO READ

1.  Read to them before they were born and even read books together as a family when me kids were in upper primary school. You can continue this even further if you want.

2.  Bought books as birthday presents…or any kind of presents.

3.  My husband and I made time to read ourselves so that our kids could see reading being modelled.

4.  Made family trips to the library a treat – like a family outing.

5.  Gave my kids autonomy in books they chose.

6.  Helped my kids choose books according to their hobbies and the kinds of things they liked.

7.  Gave books as treats or rewards instead of chocolate or money.

8.  Incorporated books and reading into our lifestyle.

9.  Left reading materials where they could be easily accessed; books on the coffee table, newspapers at breakfast etc.

10. Encouraged my kids to have a book to read during television ad breaks (instead of fighting with each other).

11.  Did research so that when my kids ‘couldn’t find anything to read’, I always had something to fill the gaps.

12.  Encouraged reading to be a habit – something that was done at the same time every day – like brushing teeth.

13.  Allowed reading time before sleep so that even if they were in bed at 7.30, they were allowed to stay awake for an extra half an hour to read – that way reading was a treat.

14.  Read books my kids liked even if they weren’t the sort of thing I preferred to read – that way I encouraged them to be open minded about what they read and it also meant I could have a fun discussion about the book with them.

15.  Had special book shopping days where my kids could choose to buy a book as a treat for something they had done well.

16. Made books a part of our life in every way possible from the day they were born.

WHAT’S ON DURING THE NATIONAL YEAR OF READING

During the National Year of Reading there will be heaps of great projects to encourage reading and writing. Some of the great events planned include:

  • It’s Never Too Late…To Learn to Read
  • Creative Reading Prize
  • Writers in residence
  • Festival of Indigenous Reading, Writing & Storytelling in Darwin
  • Local library membership drives
  • The Reading Hour

More about these projects is available on the love2read website.

The National Year of Reading also supports the Indigenous Literacy Foundation and the Pyjama Foundation which “makes it possible for Pyjama Angels – volunteer members of the community who work with children and Australia’s foster families – to read every day to thousands of children in care.”

During 2012 I’ll be donating 10% of my fees from author school visits to these worthy causes and to organisations that support children with learning differences.

To find out how you can support the National Year of Reading and help turn our country into a nation of readers, visit the National Year of Reading website.

I hope you will get behind the National Year of Reading too.

Dee

14 thoughts on “THE NATIONAL YEAR OF READING

  1. Thanks Dee,
    for posting his blog about Reading. Especially when you discover the startling statistics of those who don’t read. Very sad.
    Love all your positive reading tips to encourage kids to Read. Awesome!
    Loved your photo too of your stack of favourite books. Glad to see Letters to Leonardo was there too. LOL 🙂

  2. Great ideas for encouraging reading, Dee. When I was growing up, whenever we went on holidays, my parents always rented out a place without a TV. That made reading even more desirable.

    Cheers,
    Marianne

  3. These are all wonderful ways to encourage reading! My parents were like that too. We didn’t have a lot of money when I was little, but there was always a little extra especially for books. I love my overflowing bookcases and shelves–it makes me happy to see lots of books around!

    I have six nieces and nephews, and I make sure to include a book with their birthday and Christmas presents! So far they all love reading, and I hope they always will. 🙂

  4. Thanks, Marianne,

    We had really old TVs that broke a lot and whenever they broke we used to go months without a TV until my parents got around to buying a new one. We are so lucky to have parents who encouraged us to read, aren’t we?

    Dee:)

  5. Thanks, Laura,

    We didn’t have a lot of money either, but we had plenty of books and we went to the library at least once a week. I love having lots of books around too…so do my kids:)

    Your nieces and nephews are lucky to have an aunty like you:) I think an early love of reading might wane at times, but never leaves.

    Dee

  6. Great post, Dee. I have found, in my daughter’s age group (she’s 8), that the most eloquent and confident kids have often grown up with books and reading being an important part of their lives. May you have many, many school bookings this year! Julie.

  7. Thanks, Julie,

    I agree that books are so important to so many aspects of a child’s development. Thanks for your good wishes about my school bookings. I’d love to be able to donate a significant amount to the National Year of Reading. It is such an important project.

    Hope your writing is going well:)

    Dee

Comments are closed.