10 WAYS TO MAKE A SCENE + WRITING COMPETITION

Like so many other writers, I’m deeply immersed in writing my NaNoWriMo novel.

I’m moving forward and trying not to edit as I go, but there are something prompts I use to help me along if I think a scene is lagging. They are also things that help me in the revision process. I hope you find them useful too:)

PROMPTS FOR CREATING CONFLICT IN A SCENE

  1. What physical obstacles have you placed in your character’s way? Do you need more?
  2. Does setting contribute to the conflict in the scene? How can you make better use of setting? How has it made things worse for your character in this scene?
  3. What happened/is going to happen in this scene to make things worse for your character?
  4. Is their reaction authentic/strong enough?
  5. What decisions will your character have to make now because of what happened in the scene?
  6. Why will this scene make your reader keep reading?
  7. How can you build the tension to encourage the reader to keep reading?
  8. Does this scene reveal what you want it to about your character?
  9. Why does your story need this scene?
  10. How can you make this scene stronger?

Hope you find this useful. Good luck with your NaNoWriMo projects and whatever writing you’re working on.

Happy writing:)

Dee

FREE WRITING COMPETITION

I thought I’d also let you know about the free writing competition on my other blog, Writing Classes For Kids & Adults.
I run writing competitions there every month and the November competition closes soon.

There are great prizes to win. This month’s competition involved submitting the FIRST PAGE of your story.
To find out more, check out the competition page at http://writingclassesforkids.com/competitions-2/

4 thoughts on “10 WAYS TO MAKE A SCENE + WRITING COMPETITION

  1. As a current ‘sagging middle’ victim, I thought your latest article cannot have been more timely. Thanks!
    I’d love to enter one of your comps if a good idea crops up …

  2. You forgot one; another way of creating a scene is raising ones voice to high enough pitch so dogs’ ears begin to bleed when emphasising a point to otherwise apparently deaf family member. Conflict will follow naturally.

    Oh, you were talking about writing a scene…write, right. Oops.

Comments are closed.