FOR YOU MUM – PEOPLE YOU LOVE CAN INSPIRE YOUR BEST WRITING

Travelling Mum in WA on our "Around Australia Trip"

Mother’s Day is always a bitter sweet time for me. I love being a mum and spending special time with my family, but it also reminds my how much I miss my own mother who never got to know my children or see my first book published .

We used to go on writing retreats together and apart from sharing  a special mother/daughter bond, we shared our creativity and love for storytelling.

That’s why I could really connect with Alison Reynold’s new book, For You Mum, released just in time for Mother’s Day. It’s a collection of pieces that reflect who mums are and what they mean to us.

For You Mum takes you on a journey from conception, through pregnancy, morphing into your mother and even how to feng shui your house against mother-in-laws.

I’ve never had to deal with the ‘evil mother-in-law’ syndrome because my MIL has always been wonderful, but I love Alison’s diagnosis of Pentheraphobia which is the “profound fear of the mother-in-law.”

Apparently, this reasonably common condition manifests itself in the following symptoms: dread, air hunger, elevated or irregular heart rates, trembling, irritation, anger, nausea and sweating.  If you want the cure, you’re going to have to read Alison’s book.

Understandably, housework also rates a mention. My favourite quote on this subject from For You Mum is probably an anonymous quote, “My idea of housework is to sweep the room with a glance”.

In this book there are even Mum’s household tips on how to get rid of cockroaches and mice and even how to use tin foil to sharpen your scissors.

I guess my favourite section of For You Mum would have to be the one on Remarkable Mums because that’s what mums are. There are the mums who save their children, those who save other people’s and the mothers who never forget.

For You Mum is also full of great Mum and child rearing tips

Some pieces are moving, some are surprising and some are just downright hilarious. There’s everything from how to guess the gender of the baby you’re having to what to buy your mum for Mother’s Day (apart from Alison Reynold’s wonderful new book).

For You Mum is a beautiful looking hardback book published by The Five Mile Press. Author, Alison Reynolds dedicates it with love to her own mum, and this affection shows through in her writing.

Many years after losing my mother I wrote a short story about what she meant to me, and it was highly commended in the Cancer Council’s Daffodil Day short story award.

Don’t be afraid to allow the people you love and have loved to be your inspiration. You might find that the words that flow from your fingers are the best you’ve ever written.

Are there people who have inspired your writing? We’d love to hear about them. Feel free to share your comments and stories at the end of this post.

Happy writing:)

Dee

10 thoughts on “FOR YOU MUM – PEOPLE YOU LOVE CAN INSPIRE YOUR BEST WRITING

  1. SO much of my writing (past and present) has been inspired by the people I love.

    I lost my mum when I was just 21 – so she never saw my first book published, nor met my kids. Mother’s Day is also a bittersweet time for me but also similar to you, Dee – I have the most glorious MIL. We’re so lucky in that way.

    Gorgeous post. x

  2. Dee, this is a beautiful post and very relevant to me, except obviously I relate it to Father’s Day instead… The grief counsellor I went to suggested I think about the legacy my dad has left me as a way of working through my grief. I have no doubt that that will involve writing of some form or another somewhere down the track. Thanks for a heartfelt post, Dee and Alison, I might just have to go back to Big W and buy my mum a present 🙂

  3. Thanks, Karen,

    Writing does help you work through your grief, and you know my heart goes out to you for the loss of your dad.

    I wrote a lot about my mother after she died but I must admit I found I had to give myself the distance of years before I was able to write something that I felt was truly worthy of her memory.

    I’m sure your mum will love Alison’s book.

    Dee:)

  4. Hi Dee,
    Love your post on mums and what they mean to us. My mum is elderly and frail so each precious moment I spend with her means so much to me. I’ll be buying Alison’s book to give to her:))

  5. Happy Mothers Day to you, Dee.
    I lost my mum to cancer nearly 9 years ago and I don’t feel ready to write about the emotions yet.
    This was a lovely post.

  6. Hi Angela,

    I’m so sorry to hear about your mum. I totally understand. It has to be something you are ready for.

    Hope you have a beautiful day with your wonderful young adults this Sunday.

    Dee x

Comments are closed.