BEST AUSTRALIAN BLOGS – MY DILEMMA

I was very excited when this blog was nominated by a reader for the Best Australian Blog Awards.

I’m still thrilled and very grateful to the reader who thought my blog was worthy of the nomination. But now that voting has started, I have mixed feelings. I compete with my fellow authors every time I submit to a publisher, but not in such a direct and blatant way as a competition like this.

My dilemma is not only do I personally know many of my competitors in this competition but I think that their blogs are just as worthy as mine.

DeeScribewriting blog was started by me to share my writer’s journey in the hope that it would help others on a road that’s not always easy.

I guess if this competition lets more people know about my blog and it helps them with their writing then that’s a good thing, right?

If you enjoy reading my blog, you can vote for me by clicking the “Vote for Me Now” button in the lefthand column of my blog.

But you don’t have to just vote for me in this competition. There are so many great blogs out there and you can vote for all your favourites as long as you do it in one hit because you can only register once.

Have you ever been in this position – where you’d love to win but you want someone else to as well?

I’d love to hear about it in the comments section of this blog.

Happy writing and blogging:)

Dee

8 thoughts on “BEST AUSTRALIAN BLOGS – MY DILEMMA

  1. I understand the mixed feelings, Dee. I’m there too. I felt a big uh-oh as soon as I realized they wanted an email address to validate a vote. And again when I wasted my vote without realising I could choose multiple blogs.

    You know what this contest reminds me of in some ways? Have you seen those publisher submission guidelines that say, “Tell us what make your book better than the rest.” I can’t do it. I think there are so very many worthy books and blogs.

    But then again, it IS about becoming known in the wider world. Maybe there are people out there who would really benefit from reading a post or several on our blogs. I do want to reach out to them and the only way I know is by taking advantage of digital opportunities like these.

  2. Thanks for your comment, Susan,

    I must admit yours was one of the blogs I was referring to in my blog post – a great blog that I love reading and know would be a worthy winner.

    I know exactly what you mean about that feeling of ‘tell us why yours is better than the rest’:) But like you say if this contest enables us to reach more people and help them in their reading and writing endeavours then that’s an achievement worth participating in this competition for:)

    Proud to be alongside you in The Best Australian Blogs:) Good luck and I hope this competition brings more readers to your wonderful blog.

    Dee:)

  3. Sorry, to have put you in this dilemma, Dee. Believe me, your blog is very worthy. Let the voting begin and let the overall public decide your fate đŸ™‚

  4. Please don’t apologise Carol,

    i started blogging in the hope that I could help people on their writing journey because I know from experience how hard it can be.

    I am sincerely honoured and truly grateful that you nominated me for this award. I really, really appreciate your support and hope I don’t seem ungrateful. I guess I just never thought about the big picture of this whole competition until the voting began and I realised how important this award was to some of my writer friends whose blogs had been nominated.

    Thanks again so much for nominating me. Your nomination is one of the things that makes me feel that the effort I put into blogging is so worth it:)

    I hope your writing is going well.

    Dee:)

  5. Dee, yours is the only blog I read!!!!!!!! I’m sure there are others that are just as worthy but I don’t know of them to my shame( fingers in too many pies and not enough time to look).
    There’s a lot of dedication, energy, empathy and passion behind your blog so your name deserves to be up there.
    You have put the hard yards in publicising your blog too, making sure it gets seen.
    So good luck and please don’t be too mortified if you win.
    Tracey

  6. Hi Tracey,

    Thanks for taking the time to drop in and for your kind words.

    I blog to share my writing journey in the hope that it might make someone else’s path easier. I do spend a lot of time on my blogs, but feedback like yours is what makes it all worthwhile. I will take on board your wise words of advice:)

    Hope your writing is going well.

    Dee:)

Comments are closed.