MAKE THE MOST OF YOUR WRITING OPPORTUNITIES

The universe works in mysterious ways and opportunities can crop up at the most unexpected times, and in the strangest places. Sometimes, lucky breaks in writing and publishing are just a matter of being in the right place at the right time.

I was a steward at my son’s cross country race recently and ended up seated next to the same English teacher I sat next to last year. We spent a large part of the 2009 race talking about English, books and my YA novel, Letters to Leonardo.

This year, the conversation continued where we had left off. I talked to her about what it was like being a secondary school English teacher and she picked my brains about writing activities to liven up class texts.

She seemed to like my ideas and said, “You really should speak at our English teacher’s conference”. Teachers are always looking for new ways to present class texts.

She emailed me a couple of days later with details of the relevant teacher’s association and I submitted a proposal to them to present a workshop, “New Ways to Present Class Texts.” I have since been invited by the association to present my workshop at their VATE Jubilee State conference in December. http://www.vate.org.au/

What did all this prove to me, apart from the fact that it ALWAYS rains on school cross country days? It made me realise that there are opportunities everywhere, we just have to be open to them.

So be proud of what you do, and don’t be afraid to talk with people about it…don’t beat them over the head with a dissertation of your talents, but be an active participant in discussions about books and writing and you never know where it might lead.

Happy writing:-)
Dee

Tomorrow on Tuesday Writing Tips, we’re going to be talking about how to end your novel in a way that satisfies you and your readers. Hope you can join us then.

2 thoughts on “MAKE THE MOST OF YOUR WRITING OPPORTUNITIES

Comments are closed.