INSPIRING YOUNG WRITERS

Today I spent time with a group of year 7 students talking about my favourite subject, writing.

They are hard at work writing for the Write across Victoria competition.

I was there to talk about plotting and story and how to UNMASK great characters.

We discussed the fact that every story has to have a strong beginning and hook the readers in and every story starts with something happening for the main character which makes it a day like no other, and changes their life or who they are.

We studied plot arcs and looked at rising tension in stories and the fact that ‘post it’ notes do fall off a page when you hold it up to show the class.

But one of the most important things we discussed was the fact that writers have to ask a lot of questions

  • Who is the story/action happening to?
  • What is happening?
  • Why is it happening?
  • When is it happening?
  • Where is it happening?
  • How is it happening?

We talked about writing and where you get story ideas from and all the fun things about writing. I walked out of their classroom thinking, these are all writers. They have enquiring minds, good ideas and they ask a lot of questions.

I felt truly inspired by them and I hope they gained something from sharing my experiences.

Thanks to M Healy’s class at Braemar College.

Feel free to ask any more questions about writing or your stories in the ‘comments’ section of this post.

Happy writing:-)

Dee

4 thoughts on “INSPIRING YOUNG WRITERS

  1. heyy(:
    thankss for cominng into ouur class todaay (:
    showinng my mum the blog(:
    hahaa
    thankss againn,
    millie(:

  2. Our students were very lucky to get such wonderful advice on writing from you. I know that the students have been given a great motivational presentation to get them writing. Thank you for sharing your wisdom with the Braemar College students and staff.

  3. Thanks Christine,

    I love being able to talk with such dedicated young writers. If any of them have any other questions, they can feel free to add them to the comments section of my ‘Ask A Writing Question’ on this blog and I will answer it for them.

    Dee:-)

Comments are closed.