WHICH COMES FIRST, THE WRITING OR THE ART?

My YA novel, Letters to Leonardo was inspired by the works of Leonardo da Vinci. The more I worked on it, the more I became inspired by Leonardo’s art and the meaning behind it. The more I became fascinated with Leonardo the man.

A number of people who had read the novel even asked me if I was an artist. I’m not; just someone who appreciates and is inspired by art.

In Letters to Leonardo, 15 year old Matt Hudson gets a letter from the mother he thought was dead.  On the front of the card is a picture painted by Matt’s mum called Uluru at Dusk.

It was a figment of my imagination and the painting doesn’t actually exist. But I couldn’t help wishing that it did.

If only I could paint.

I have dabbled in pastels a bit, and the opportunity came up recently to take classes. Ambitious I know, but my first class, I thought I’m going to attempt Uluru at Dusk. So here it is.

I conclude that writing and art are a bit like the chicken and the egg – and I don’t think it matters which one comes first.

Art inspired me to write Letters to Leonardo and writing about an imaginary picture inspired me to go out and create it.

Happy writing and creating.

Dee:-)

12 thoughts on “WHICH COMES FIRST, THE WRITING OR THE ART?

  1. Hi Dee,
    Loved reading your novel ” Letters from Leonardo” . I was very interested in your explanation of the art connection … Love your pastel pic of Uluru by the way. Cheers, Karen :))

  2. Hey Dee

    Now I should have known that inside you was also an artist waiting to burst out – wow – look at that drawing – you can actually see that it is Uluru!

    Congratulations for taking on and learning another artistic medium and for making another of your dreams into reality.

    Bye 4 now
    Tina

  3. Dee, the painting is simply DIVINE!!! I am so impressed and very inspired to follow my own inner artist. I agree that the entire artistic spectrum is interrelated and impossible to separate. Hope you enjoy the rest of your art classes and I can’t wait to see the work you produce.

  4. Thanks Tina,

    I’m still a learner, but I thought it was an interesting question, which came first in the way of inspiration – the art or the words? Not sure I’m any the wiser, but the exploration was fun.

    Dee:-)

  5. Thanks Karen, the funny thing is that your beautiful songs you created for your boys were something that gave me the confidence to try something that instinctively I wanted to do, but didn’t have the confidence.

    Thanks for your inspiration and good wishes.

    Dee:-)

  6. Hi Dee,
    I had a similar experience with music… Music inspired me to write a story about music and how it affects human emotions.
    I agree with you, it doesn’t really matter which one comes first, as long as they come and keep on inspiring us 🙂

  7. Hi Lua,

    It can be hard to separate art forms can’t it? So many are interwoven. I know that many writers are inspired by music; interesting how it can also work in reverse.

    Dee:-)

Comments are closed.