MY AMAZING MAY GIBBS ADVENTURE DAY 24

After finishing the first draft of Book One last night, today was a day for sleeping in and enjoying the sights of Brisbane.

A non-writerly friend, came to visit with her gorgeous little girl, Sophie and we spent the morning exploring the Roma Street Parklands, which really are a work of art.

Roma Street Parklands in bloom

So many places to explore, water dragons scuttling across in front of us, and garden beds out in full bloom.

It has been a while since I’ve had to stop at flowers so a little person can have a “shmell”.

If we could incorporate the innocence, wisdom and wonder of our children, I’m sure our writing would always be beautiful.

Children think with all their senses, it seems to be something that adults have to consciously remember.

After a lovely time in the gardens it was back to my “Brisbane Home” to work on my “From Portrait to Prose” workshop at the state library.

I’ve also decided that I can’t maintain so many blogs, so I have spent some time incorporating some of the features from my blog http://tips4youngwriters.wordpress.com into this blog.

I hope you like the new Want to Be a Writer and Writing Tips pages.

Now it’s time for reflection about draft one of my novel. As I move onto the editing tomorrow, these will be the things I’ll be looking out for:

  • Another friendly Brisbane local

    Holes/inconsistencies in the plot

  • Lapses in dramatic tension
  • Changes in writing style
  • Changes in voice
  • Telling not showing
  • Foreshadowing – have I left enough clues for the reader?
  • Places where the writing is dull
  • Places where I have given the reader too much information

Wish me luck! It’s a challenge, but I’m looking forward to it.

Happy writing.

Dee:-)

2 thoughts on “MY AMAZING MAY GIBBS ADVENTURE DAY 24

  1. Hi Tracey,

    I’ve only got that much done because I’ve had so much time on my May Gibbs fellowship. I wouldn’t have been able to write anywhere near as much in three weeks at home.

    Dee:-)

Comments are closed.