MY AMAZING MAY GIBBS ADVENTURE DAY 14

Mosaic art in Brisbane

I can’t believe I’ve been here two weeks already. So much has happened in such a short space of time. I’ve done 10 writing workshops with kids at the State Library of Queensland, researched and developed a lot of the background work for my series and written over 10,000 words of the first book. That’s what’s so wonderful about a May Gibbs Fellowship – no distractions, no responsibilities – just the opportunity to write.

Today as I stood in the supermarket queue, I wondered if I was getting into my psychological thriller/crime series just a little too much. When the man in front of me bought a box of chocolate, an anniversary card and a packet of rat poison, I immediately became suspicious – and my mind conjured up all sorts of scenarios about what he was going to do with the Ratsak. Fortunately he couldn’t read my mind – at least I hope he couldn’t:-)

Paddlesteamer at Eagle Street Wharf

It was a lovely day for a walk and I felt like I needed to free up my mind so I did a bit of a circuit down to Eagle Street and back along the river to the Goodwill Bridge.

There were lots of people out and about enjoying the beautiful day and of course I had to drop into the Southbank markets. I walked back along the river to the Victoria Bridge and back home. It was so much fun being out and about, and discovering more of Brisbane’s unique artworks and characters.

Maritime Museum from the Goodwill Bridge

It took me a while because I kept having to stop and sit on a park bench to write down the ideas and plot points that had popped into my head while I walked. Walking is great for getting my brain and creative juices moving as well.

Happy to report I didn’t buy any books today, which is a good thing because I just don’t know how I’m going to fit them all in my suitcase to go home again, lol.

Fortunately, I don’t need to think about that now. Tomorrow is my High Tea and then I have two more weeks of planning and writing…can’t wait.

Happy writing.

Dee:-)

2 thoughts on “MY AMAZING MAY GIBBS ADVENTURE DAY 14

  1. Hey Dee

    You write of our beautiful Brisbane as if you are a ‘stranger-in-paradise’ and you are loving the journey.

    So good to hear your story is building, and words are accumulating and that you are getting around, walking and helping your creativity flow – you know that I am as jealous as hell of your amount of ‘writing’ time on this residency – wow its soooo great, but also I am so so proud of you taking up this opportunity and doing your thing.

    Can’t wait to read the story in print!

    Enjoy your high tea tomorrow and so sorry I can’t share that one with you.

    Bye 4 now
    Tina

  2. Thanks Tina for your lovely words of support. I am loving the journey – but as you know, Brisbane was my first choice because apart from being a beautiful place, there are so many wonderful children’s and YA writers like you living in this part of the world. So I don’t feel at all lonely:-)

    Sorry you can’t be at the High Tea tomorrow. We will have a cucumber sandwich for you:-)

    Dee:-)

Comments are closed.