MY AMAZING MAY GIBBS ADVENTURE DAY 8

Today is all about writing – and it’s down to the business of getting to know my main characters. That means I need them to tell me things about themselves – things that they wouldn’t tell anybody else – secrets, likes, dislikes – physical characteristics that might be completely hidden from the rest of the world.

I’m trying to find out what motivates them – what makes them do the things they do?

What is it about each character that causes THAT particular piece of action to happen?

My first step was to think about what my characters might look like. I always get a visual outline of them in my head – so that when they appear in my imagination to tell me things, they have an appearance; they actually look like someone. They are not just a vague presence that feeds me words and information.

To help me picture my characters, I use some stock photos I have from my collection. My characters won’t look exactly like the people in these photos, but they will have a general similarity. Some of the characters I’ve chosen are pictured above.

I interview my characters and build up a character profile for each major one.

After I’ve got them in my head, I start drawing information out of them – try and get them to tell me who they really are.

To do this, I interview my characters (just the major ones) and ask them for all sorts of information about their family background, their friends and enemies and their personality traits, flaws and attributes. It’s a fun process and I love getting down to the nitty gritty of who my characters are and finding out why they do the things they do – and sometimes this can motivate changes in the plot direction of my story.

One of the 'characters' I discovered in Brisbane

Have to go now, my characters are calling me, but speaking of characters, here’s an unusual one I came across when I was walking around Brisbane CBD this afternoon. It’s a steel sculpture by Cezary Stulgis and it’s called “The Overseer”.

6 thoughts on “MY AMAZING MAY GIBBS ADVENTURE DAY 8

  1. You’re clearly having a really productive fellowship, Dee! This is exactly where I’m at with my current WIP and it’s fascinating to see how another writers works. And just like in your previous post, I’m about to break out the butcher’s paper. I love scribbling in different colours and connecting ideas with big arrows and getting right into the action 🙂

  2. Hey Dee

    I love seeing your process – I find having a rough picture of my characters helps them talk, but also it helps with consistency so the eyes don’t change colour half way through.

    Can’t wait to see the rest of your process.

    Happy writing today.

    Bye 4 now
    Tina

  3. Thanks Tina,

    I totally agree with you about the eye changing colour thing. It’s so easy to do if you’re not careful – that’s exactly why a pic helps me.

    Dee:-)

Comments are closed.