MY AMAZING MAY GIBBS ADVENTURE – DAY 6

If there’s one thing I’ve learned about writing, it’s that there ARE no rules, and that often you can’t predict what’s going to happen next in your story – and there are definitely no certainties as far as the writing process goes.

With my new YA psychological thriller series that I’m working on for my May Gibbs Fellowship, I was determined to meticulously research, and carefully plan the whole thing out before putting pen to paper.

But, my main character, Lia had other ideas. After staying confined in my head for the last few months, she burst out this morning and started telling her story – whether I wanted her to or not – the result is that I now have the start of book one in the series – and Lia is not stopping there. She’s determined to tell me exactly what REALLY happened to her older sister, Mindy.

I did have to politely ask her to step aside this morning so I could clear my head for the last two Heroes and Villains workshops.

All students from the three schools seemed to immerse themselves in the workshop. They came up with some intriguing plots, some great characters and some fascinating questions for me. Also great to see so many teachers enthusiastically supporting their student’s writing endeavours.

A Smile costs you nothing to produce, put one on and you’ll feel priceless (quote from The Over Happy Bus Driver)

I couldn’t resist walking past Glen’s Coffee Barrow again this morning. Today’s quote was a bit twee, but seeing as I’m a big fan of the smile, I thought I’d share it anyway.

So it’s been a big week with 10 Heroes and Villains workshops, but so rewarding to hear kids say, “This is fun” and for the teachers to thank you as they leave and tell you, “The kids got so much out of that.”

Next week it’s fingers to the keyboard – working with Lia and cohorts to get their story out of my head and onto the computer.

Happy writing.

Dee:-)

2 thoughts on “MY AMAZING MAY GIBBS ADVENTURE – DAY 6

  1. Hey Dee

    Isn’t it amazing how a writers characters dominate our lives, and make us write their story! Lia is obviously ready for you to tell the stories she wants you to, and since she is talking – let it roll off your fingers into the pages.

    Can’t wait to read Lia’s journey in book format!

    Happy writing!

    Bye 4 now
    Tina

Comments are closed.