MY AMAZING MAY GIBBS ADVENTURE – DAY 4

In a recent blog post, http://wellreadrabbit.wordpress.com/2010/03/10/inspired writer and illustrator Katherine Battersby described inspiration as “a certain kind of overwhelming feeling – often when looking at something inspiring someone has created. It’s like a bigness within me.”

I know exactly what she means. It’s a feeling I’ve been getting all week when I look at the amazing characters and stories created by kids at my Heroes and Villains workshops.

It’s an indescribable feeling of admiration for their creativity, innovativeness and the enthusiasm for their writing and the stories they are creating. It’s a feeling of privilege that they are letting me into their creative world, and asking me to help them find their way.

Today’s “Heroes” and “Villains” certainly got into character when acting out the scenarios I had created to identify what characteristics make up a hero and what is it that makes someone a villain?


I’m happy to report that my walk to the State Library was inspirational again this morning and I now know how one of my characters is going to meet their ‘sticky’ end.

My MC is also making her presence very strongly felt so I can feel a big writing week coming on once my workshops are finished. Although I’ll be sad for them to be over, my MC won’t be. She is becoming very impatient to have  her story told:-)

Planning on immersing myself in plot and character interviews this afternoon.

Happy writing.

Dee:-)

2 thoughts on “MY AMAZING MAY GIBBS ADVENTURE – DAY 4

  1. Dee, I’ve loved reading all about your May Gibbs adventures in Brisbane. Not only do I wish I was there, but that I was back in school so I could attend your workshop! I love how enthusiastically kids get into things – they certainly do sound inspiring.

Comments are closed.