MY AMAZING MAY GIBBS ADVENTURE – DAY 4

Today’s workshop adventures involved a group of Year 10 students and a group of Year 5s – so different, but both groups were so inspiring.

I love the randomness and creativity of young writers when the boundaries are removed. My favourite villain to date is probably the math’s book villain from yesterday’s session, and the 150 year old granny who has superknitting powers and captures villains in her home knitted nets (created today). But I have to say that there have been so many wonderful, interesting, original heroes and villains created over the last couple of days. There are a lot of talented young writers out there:-)

Early in the workshops, volunteers don a cape and mask and take on the identity of a hero or a villain, performing a script I have created. The performers and spectators seem to really enjoy this part, and it’s a great way to get them thinking about what makes a hero and what makes a villain? It shows them that appearance, accessories, mannerisms, dialogue, names and action all go towards creating a character.

The amazing photos from the Heritage Collection at the State Library of Queensland depict people and scenes so far out of these young writer’s experiences – yet they seem to have no trouble bringing these characters into the modern…or sometimes into a fantasy world.

On the personal writing front, I haven’t had much time yet, but on the way to the State Library of Queensland this morning I had a breakthrough. As I was walking I recalled a newspaper article I had been reading over breakfast – and suddenly, in my head I had the perfect setting and scenario for my characters to meet. A few more things need to fall into place, and then I’ll be ready to put pen to paper.

It’s amazing how walking frees the mind.

Tomorrow is the halfway mark for the Heroes and Villains workshops and I’m looking forward to seeing more wonderful writing from young creators.

Being A May Gibbs ‘fellow’ is so much fun.

Happy writing.

Dee:-)

2 thoughts on “MY AMAZING MAY GIBBS ADVENTURE – DAY 4

Comments are closed.