TUESDAY WRITING TIPS BLOG TOUR – ADDING LAYERS TO YOUR STORY

When I wrote Letters to Leonardo, I found that the manuscript was like a canvas that I kept adding layers to.

I‘m not the only writer who does this. Today we’re off to South Australia to visit children’s author Robyn Opie and she’s going to tell us the secrets behind the success of her Black Baron.

What started out as a 1200 word story became a 10,000 word sensation – but not without a lot of hard work.

The Black Baron is a fun, fast-paced story full of great humour with lots of appeal for young readers, and Robyn is going to tell us all about how she wrote it.

Join me at Robyn’s blog http://robynopie.blogspot.com today. I’m sure you’ll find her story fascinating.

When I get home, I’ll be posting a special tip from Robyn back here at my blog.

Hope you are enjoying the blog tour. Just in case you’ve missed any of it, here’s where we’ve been/are going:

In case you’ve missed any stops. Here are the complete tour dates.

DATE BLOG TOPIC
2NDFebruary 2010 Claire Saxbyhttp://letshavewords.blogspot.com Writing Picture Books – Leaving room for the illustrator.
9thFebruary 2010 Dee Whitehttps://deescribewriting.wordpress.com Reviewing ‘There Was an Old Sailor’Reviewing vs Editing skills.
16thFebruary 2010 Sandy Fussellwww.sandyfussell.blogspot.com Writers Need to be avid free range readers
23rdFebruary 2010 Robyn Opiewww.robynopie.blogspot.com How to make your story longer – adding layers.
2ND March 2010 Angela Sundewww.angelasunde.blogspot.com More about Point of View – head hopping.

Happy writing (and reading)

Dee:-)

4 thoughts on “TUESDAY WRITING TIPS BLOG TOUR – ADDING LAYERS TO YOUR STORY

  1. Hi Dee,
    I’m really enjoying reading ‘Letters from Leonardo’. I love the multi-layered plot and sub-plots. Was your first draft a much shorter, simpler version?
    When I wrote my kids SF it started out as 3K and ended up as 8K.
    Best wishes for your next books. Cheers, Karen :))

  2. Hi Karen,

    Nice to see you here. Glad you are enjoying Letters to Leonardo. I think the first draft had a more complex plot, but less sub text. I had more characters than I needed, and hadn’t fully developed the ones I did have. Also, the more I explored the art themes and related Leonardo da Vinci’s pics to what was going on with Matt, the more complex it became. The first version was also a lot shorter because it was ALL letters. My wonderful editor at Walker Books helped me to realise that this was too restrictive and the story flowed a lot better, and had more ‘layers’ once I added narrative. It also allowed the letters to show a more intimate side of Matt – what was ‘really’ going on inside his head.

    Thanks for your good wishes.

    Dee:-)

Comments are closed.