TURN YOUR STORY UPSIDE DOWN – CREATE THE UNEXPECTED

I know we already had one ‘bunny’ post this week, but I’m afraid I couldn’t resist this one.

My bunnies have regular toe nail trims, and up until recently it has always been a bit of a trauma for everyone. Bunnies have powerful legs and it’s hard to hold a kicking bunny still while you trim their toe nails.

But recently I discovered that if I lay them on their back to do it they become mesmerised…completely docile…completely co-operative.

At the time, I was working on a book that kept throwing up problems for me. That’s when I realised that I could apply the same principles to writing stories as I did to bunnies.

Turning your story upside down can actually HELP you get it under control.

Don’t be afraid to make your good characters a little bit bad, and your bad characters a little bit good.

Don’t be afraid to introduce something completely unexpected into your story. I have found it’s a great way to invigorate a tired story line or show you a completely new dimension to your main character.

I guess it comes back to the same thing – as writers we are always taking risks – always prepared to try something new.

Happy writing.

Dee:-)

(and the bunnies)

9 thoughts on “TURN YOUR STORY UPSIDE DOWN – CREATE THE UNEXPECTED

  1. Aww, I love your bunnies, Dee.

    A great post. I love adding the unexpected to my stories. I love to add something out of the blue in the everyday life of the MC, then in a later chapter, they reader thinks, Oh, that’s why that happened. So far, none of my critique group has guessed what was going to happen. I love their reaction when they do.

    I have to hold my guinea pigs on their back when I cut their nails too. They scream anyway. Yes, scream. You’d think they were being murdered. They hate nail cutting time. I have to bribe them with parsley. If I place my thumbs over Boofhead’s eyes, he immediately falls asleep and stays asleep for about twenty minutes if I don’t remove them.

  2. So glad my bunnies don’t scream when I cut their nails, Trisha.

    Not sure I could cope with that:-)

    Dee

  3. I think good characters have to have a bit of a dark side or else they start to be a little dull. A few hang-ups and issues can really flesh out a character and help the reader connect to them. Thanks for the interesting post.

Comments are closed.