LETTERS TO LEONARDO HAS TAKEN ITS FIRST STEPS – So I’m Taking Time Out To Celebrate

letterstoleonardolrgLetters to Leonardo 

Letters to Leonardo came out on 1st July and unfortunately, the Productivity Commission released its report recommending the removal of Parallel Import Restrictions on books just two weeks later.

So, instead of reporting the wonderful amazing, happy times since Letters to Leonardo was released, I’ve been a bit bogged down with campaigning politicians, writing articles and letters, and blogging about this very important issue.

But today, I’m taking time out to celebrate the emergence into the world of Letters to Leonardo, my very first YA novel.

After the cyber launch was over, I had a couple of days to take a breather, and then it was time for the ‘actual’ launch on 4th July and what a fantastic day that was.

Sherryl Clark and Dee

Over 110 family, friends, writing buddies and former teachers gathered at Sunbury library to help me celebrate. As I looked out at all the people who had come to support me, it was like seeing my whole life laid out before me. There were people who had known me all my life, friends from school and people who had known me just a short time.

English teachers and friends from my high school days
English teachers and friends from my high school days

I was a bit nervous about doing my speech, but as I looked across at all the proud smiling faces, I knew that it didn’t matter what I said.

And as my writing buddy from Brisbane, Sheryl Gwyther commented, “You could have said ‘blah blah blah’ and there would have been thunderous applause.”

I am truly grateful to friend and mentor, Sherryl Clark who launched Letters to Leonardo and to all the wonderful people, some of whom travelled great distances to help me celebrate my special day. I am so lucky to have such wonderful family and friends and to have such a great group of writing buddies who support me and help me to hone my craft.

My fantastically supportive author friends My fantastically supportive author friends
I’d had my advance copies of Letters to Leonardo, but it wasn’t till I was signing books at my launch that I felt like a ‘real’ author.
 
P1090466

 

SINCE THE LAUNCH OF Letters to Leonardo ……

 

 

Things haven’t really stopped since the launch. My blog tour still had another few days to go, then I had my first book shop signing at Collins Book store in Sunbury, where staff made me feel very welcome and even presented me with a box of chocolates after the event.

I have toured Sunbury and the Macedon Ranges with Letters to Leonardo and been warmly welcomed by all the booksellers and the reading public. So far, I’ve been to Collins Sunbury, Aesop’s Attic Kyneton and Red Door Books in Lancefield. I’m still to visit New Leaves book shop in Woodend and I’m going to be talking about my book on Woodend radio – and I have school visits and a Byron Bay and Brisbane launches planned.

Collins Booksellers Sunbury went to a lot of trouble with their instore and window diplays.                                                 Collins Booksellers Sunbury went to a lot of trouble with their instore and window displays.

It has all been, and continues to be so much fun. I’ve had some great reviews and lots of good feedback from readers of Letters to Leonardo.

So, I hope you’ll forgive me this indulgence – reliving all these wonderful Letters to Leonardo moments. I guess, when it all boils down to it, I’m just  a new author mum, proudly introducing her book baby to the world:-)

Dee

6 thoughts on “LETTERS TO LEONARDO HAS TAKEN ITS FIRST STEPS – So I’m Taking Time Out To Celebrate

  1. And a great welcoming party it was too, Dee. I’m proud to be your friend and fellow author.
    ‘Letters to Leonardo’ deserves to reach for the heights just like the book’s guiding light. 🙂

  2. Congratulations, Dee! A great deal of hard work and persistence has paid off, and you deserve every bit of limelight you get! YAY!

  3. You know Dee, I finished reading your post with exactly that same “Awww!” expression I get when I do see new born babies! Thanks for allowing me to be part of your launch vicariously. It sounded and looked wonderful. I hope you have just as great a time in Byron and Brisbane.

Comments are closed.