PARALLEL IMPORTS ON BOOKS – Dear Mr Rudd, It’s me again…

Dear Mr Rudd,

I wrote to you back in April this year expressing my concerns about the Productivity Commission’s proposal to remove PIRs 12 months from the date of a book’s publication.

Unfortunately, since my last letter, things have got EVEN WORSE!

The Productivity Commission has declared that on the evidence before it (even though it admits there is not adequate current financial data available), removing Parallel Import Restrictions all together is going to be best for the Australian consumer.

The latest report claims that most of the benefits of PIR protection accrue to publishers, authors – and even printers. Are these people not consumers as well?

The Commission attempts to separate PIRs from Copyright (even though they are contained within the Copyright Act) yet territorial copyright will very definitely be affected.

Due to the absence of adequate current statistical data, the Commission has been forced to back it’s position by quoting Prices Surveillance Authority surveys from 1989 and ACCC reports dating back as far as 2001.

Let’s put vested interests aside  for a moment ( I admit I’m on the side of authors, publishers, booksellers not involved in the Coalition for Cheaper Books and our local printers.) My question is this…..

How can your senior economists recommend such sweeping changes to an entire industry – and produce a report (with more pages than I could be bothered counting) – all based on figures that are so outdated?

I’m no business guru – just an author surviving on a very average annual salary (that almost meets the cost of my kid’s school fees) – but even I would think that no business would contemplate change without studying the full financial implications – without examining the current statistics.

I hope you don’t mind me giving out your address Mr Rudd because I’m sure there are lots of people who will want to write to you about this issue.

Yours sincerely,

Dee White

Proud Australian Author

 

Tell our Prime Minister that Australian books are worth saving.

Write to

The Hon Kevin Rudd

Prime Minister

PO Box 6022

House of Representatives

Parliament House

Canberra ACT 2600

2 thoughts on “PARALLEL IMPORTS ON BOOKS – Dear Mr Rudd, It’s me again…

  1. Great post Dee.
    I live in hope that Mr Rudd and his fellows see the lgith on this issue and ignore the Productivty Commission. After all Mr Rudd, the Deputy PM (Ms Gillard) and Peter Garrett ahev all spoken fo theri supprot for the arts. To then destroy the future of Australia’s literary industry would be foolish – and hypocritical.

  2. Absolutely – and Mr Rudd believes that more Australian history shoud be taught in schools – it won’t even be available to read about if the Coalition for Cheaper Books has it’s way.

    Dee

Comments are closed.