WELCOME TO OUR CYBER LAUNCH – Letters to Leonardo is about to spread its wings

letterstoleonardolrgSeeing as today is such an important occasion – Cyber Launch day – and the day that Letters to Leonardo is released, I thought I’d do something really fancy and voice record my introduction.

But of course technology doesn’t always co-operate – and the sound was ‘fuzzy’ to say the least – we even had clinking glasses SFX – but they sounded pretty bad too – sort of like someone running over a stack of empty bottles – not pleasant.

So it’s back to the tried and true – words on a page – which really, being a writer, I’m more comfortable with anyway.

 

I want to start by saying how fantastic it is to have you at my launch – we’re in for a really big day.

LET US KNOW WHAT YOU THINK

Please feel free to leave comments. I’m going to be online all day (ISP providers permitting) to answer your questions and respond to your comments, so please don’t be shy about leaving me a message.

Also, if you are an author, illustrator, online bookstore or reviewer and would like to be included on my blogroll, please leave your URL.

WHATS’ PLANNED FOR THE DAY?STATUETTE AND MONA LISA

We kick off at 10.00am with a word from my wonderful Editor, Sue Whiting, who is going to talk about how the whole process of publishing Letters to Leonardo got started.

It’s an honour to have Margaret Hamilton here today and she is going to be Cyber Launching the book at 10.15am, so charge your glasses and get those cyber bubbles happening.

Also planned are crosses to Robyn Opie’s blog (that’s a blog tour stop) http://robynopie.blogspot.com and to http://teacherswritinghelper.wordpress.com for classroom activities and tasks. Young writers can get tips at http://tips4youngwriters.wordpress.comand there will be reviews by YA readers.

To celebrate the release of Letters to Leonardo, Walker Books has kindly allowed me to download a 1st chapter Sneak Peek and that will be available at 10.30am.

There’s a Letters to Leonardo word search, a movie book preview – and so much more.

100_0804The elusive Matt Hudson will even be appearing in public to interview me about how I used Leonardo da Vinci’s paintings to tell Matt’s story.

So, thanks for coming, hope you enjoy the day – and don’t forget to leave your comments.

Dee and Matt:-)

12 thoughts on “WELCOME TO OUR CYBER LAUNCH – Letters to Leonardo is about to spread its wings

  1. 1 July 2009

    Dear Dee,

    I am writing this letter to say how EXCITED I am for you on this your much-anticipated launch day. For sure you have many amazing things planned!

    Please say G’day to Matt for me. He is an amazing letter-writer.

    I look forward to following your journey – today and into the future.

    Warm congratulations!

    Your friend,

    Kat

  2. Congratulations, Dee! I’m so excited for you on this momentous occasion – can’t wait to read ‘Letters to Leonardo’ and can’t wait to be down there tomorrow morning.
    See you soon – from your writing friend in Brissie!
    S 🙂

  3. Have a fabulous day, Dee.
    I’ve been following Matt and your blog journey, and I can’t wait to read the actual book. I’m very intrigued to read Matt’s story.
    Happy launch day!
    Alison

  4. It’s finally here, Dee! I feel like I already know Matt – but now I can finally read his story! Hope you have a wonderful cyberlaunch. Enjoy those bubbles.

    Kim

  5. Kat, thanks for your congratulations. I’ll pass what you said on to Matt. He’s going to be appearing later on to say a few words of his own.

    We’re looking forward to catching up with you at CYA and co-launching with your wonderful new pb, “This is the Mud.” (Plenty of mud around today – my dogs both have chocolate paws).

    Dee:-)

  6. Sheryl,

    Thanks for your congratulations. We are VERY excited – in fact seeing as it’s such a special day I even said to Matt that it’s okay for him to have pizza for breakfast:-)

    Can’t wait to see you tomorrow. It’s very cold and windy down here so I hope it’s not too much of a shock to your system.

    Dee and Matt:-)

  7. Thanks Jules.
    We are enjoying the launch. Can’t wait to be up your way – can’t wait to see you and enjoy some warmer weather.
    brrrrr!

    Dee and Matt:-)

  8. Thanks Kim,

    Hope you’re enjoying the cyber bubbles too – they are non-alcoholic – and VERY good for you:-)

    Cheers:-)

    Dee and Matt

  9. Thanks Ali,

    Matt and I are glad you enjoyed our book. We’re going to be publishing some reviews by other readers on our blog later on today.

    Dee:-)

Comments are closed.