LETTERS TO LEONARDO – MY FIRST REVIEW

I’m so excited to be posting my first review of Letters to Leonardo on my blog.

The review was done by Margaret Hamilton AM of Margaret Hamilton Books and Publishing Services. This is what Margaret had to say about Letters to Leonardo:

 

“I started reading Letters to Leonardo and couldn’t put it down. I was so wrapped up in Matt’s world, I was moved to tears a couple of times. There’s a good balance of angst and serious relationship issues, interspersed with touches of humour and insights into the teenage world and especially this troubled family.

I think it’s particularly effective that the whole story is not told in the text, that snippets of Matt’s story are told only in his letters to his favourite artist, as though he finds it far too confronting to even reveal these problems to the reader. These letters add another dimension to the story and also reveal very interesting insights into Leonardo’s life and work. Matt knows him well.

The book is written in a straightforward style and while it doesn’t shy away from the seriousness of Matt’s situation and his relationships, it doesn’t get bogged down and overly bleak. Although it hasn’t got a chocolate box ending, the resolution is satisfying and reinforces the need for honesty and compassion in families.

It’s about life and it moves on, as we all learn that life does. ”

 

Margaret Hamilton
 
 

 

18 thoughts on “LETTERS TO LEONARDO – MY FIRST REVIEW

  1. Fantastic review, Dee. It really gives the feel of the story in an honest and subtle way. It makes me want to read it even more!! Can’t wait. And of course, you know one of my favourite artists is Leonardo. 🙂

  2. Sheryl,

    Leonardo just happens to be mine too – although you’d never guess:-) Of course you haven’t seen all the Leonardo da Vinci books on my desk. I even have Sigmund Freud’s analysis of Leonardo da Vinci. How obsessed is that?

    Dee:-)

  3. Thanks Dale,

    I’m very happy with it. Hope you get your copy of Letters to Leonardo soon:-)

    Dee

  4. Wow, Dee. A stunning review! I too am fascinated with Leonardo. I went to an exhibition in Perth of all his inventions brought to life – absolutely fascinating. I look forward to learning more about him through your book!

  5. Thanks Kath,

    He was an amazing man wasn’t he?

    I’m afraid there are no rabbits in Letters to Leonardo:-)

    Dee

  6. That is certainly a thoughtful and thought-provoking review, Dee. The more I read about Letters to Leonardo, the more I’m sweating on its arrival!

  7. Pingback: Writer in Residence, insideadog.com.au

  8. omg i jst borrowed this book today…it’s soo addictive!!!! i have to write a review on this for my english assignment:(
    btw the review is EXECELLENT!!!!!!!

  9. omg this book is awesome!!!!

    but i kind of need some help i am doing this book review in english and i am trying to think of what to write for the question where was the book set and i am not sure what to say because it is kind of set everywhere isn’t it? can someone please help me

    thanx
    channy

Comments are closed.